Mic issue on Asus Eee 1001HA

As I mentioned in my previous blog post, I am unable to use the mic in my new netbook. Well, after looking around a bit, I discover that the netbook has a digital input in addition to the analog input, now when I look at the gnome-volume-control I only see the analog(external) input and not the digital one, which obviously means that ALSA does not see it. After a little more digging, I found a patch where digital input support was added to Acer laptops using the ALC268 codec(the 1001HA uses ALC269), I decided to tinker around with that a little and tried to apply it to the ALC269 as well without any results.

I have filed a bug report here if you want a look.

Now, I am not very strong on sound(I mentioned that previously too), so my apologies if I misdiagnosed the problem in anyway or if I did not provide enough information, in which case I would be more than happy to get the extra information required.

4 Responses to “Mic issue on Asus Eee 1001HA”

  1. ikkefc3 Says:

    Install the linux-backports-modules-alsa- package to get the mic working.

  2. Mitch Towner Says:

    Yeah, as ikkefc3 said above – install linux-backports-modules-alsa-karmic (then reboot). This package has fixed a great deal of issues with laptops & the hda-intel driver.
    More info regarding this can be found in this post on Daniel Chen’s blog
    http://drowninginbugs.blogspot.com/2009/10/caveats-for-audio-in-910.html

  3. KEATH Says:

    I HAVE 1001HA, WHICH I HAVE JUST INSTALLED EEEBUNTU.
    – MIC “FIXED”

    WHAT I HAVE DONE TO FIX MY 1001HA MIC IS:
    – LC ON THE VOLUME CONTROL, UPPER PANEL
    – GO VOLUME CONTROLS
    – PREFERENCES
    – INPUT SOURCE (OPTIONS)
    – CLOSE
    – GO TO “OPTIONS” TAB
    – PICK THE INPUT SOURCE =>> Int Mic
    – CLOSE
    – THAT SHOULD BE IT
    – TEST TO CONFIRM

    THINGS I TRIED:
    – THE INTERNAL MIC DID NOT WORK WITH ANYTHING I TRIED.
    – I USED A HEADSET WITH MIC AND THAT WORKED FINE => “EXTERNAL” MIC
    – I JUST LOOKED OVER ALL THE OPTIONS I COULD FIND.
    – I USED THE TEST CALL FEATURE IN SKYPE FOR THE TESTING.
    – NOW THAT I HAVE THAT WORKING I WILL SKYPE NOW.

    *** I FIND HAVING EXTERNAL STUFF TO TEST WITH HELPS TO SEE IF THINGS WORK WITH OTHER HARDWARE…THEN COME BACK (THE HEADSET WITH MIC WORKED HERE).

    I WENT BIG CIRCLE FOR THE SIMPLE.

    I HOPE THIS WILL HELPS.

Leave a Reply

